Go Nuts for Christmas

The holiday season can get a little nutty with the retelling of embarrassing stories, last minute manic shopping and the 24-7 sugar high, which is why, this year, I decided to do my out of town family a favor by loading them up with lots of treats full of ingredients to fuel them through this crazy time. What’s the secret ingredient? Nuts, and lots of them!

IMG_9430

Let me preface this by saying that just because these cookies are healthy is not a reason to discount their tastiness. Through extensive research, and some prior experimentation, I gathered a collection of yummy and nourishing cookies to share with friends and family.

If my preface wasn’t convincing enough, my choice to indulge in “healthy” Christmas treats, does not mean I don’t think that cocktails and french-fries are not a reasonable replacement for dinner…

Date Truffles

IMG_9427

To be honest, I usually have these as a post-workout snack, but they do make a nice addition to my selection of cookies. You can find a really good recipe for these by Deliciously Ella here, and the recipe I used from Dr. Oz The Good Life here.

Macaroons

IMG_9422

Not to be mistaken for Macarons, these cookies are sweet and perfect for coconut fans! Find the recipe here.

Almond Pistachio Oat Cookies

IMG_9426

These are some of my favorite cookie year round and I’ve even blogged about them before! This time, I added sea-salt flakes to bring out the sweetness. Find the recipe from Secret Squirrel Food here.

Dipped Fruit

IMG_9428

I made this recipe up, but it is super simple! All you have to do is dip dried fruit in melted semi-sweet chocolate and sprinkle a little sea salt on top for flavor and style.

Chocolate Chia Cookies

IMG_9424

These are another favorite from Deliciously Ella. The hazelnut and chocolate combo is irresistible! Find the recipe here.

Have a lovely Christmas with your friends and family and don’t be afraid to go a little nuts!

Leave a Reply

