#blessed

2

The year is not quite over, but November has me prematurely reflecting on all that 2015 has brought into my life. I will admit that I am quick to look at things from a glass half empty perspective, the Thanksgiving season has me abandoning my wayward thinking and has me realizing that in reality, my glass is overflowing with blessings and things to be thankful for. As a matter of fact,  at the end of the day, I’ve been left feeling pretty thankful and #blessed.

Post panel discussion bliss ✌🏼️ #fromwhereilay #summerinasnap

A post shared by Emma Currens (@lil_emmz) on

 

Over the past year I have formed friendships with strongindependent women. As contrived as those two descriptors are, they couldn’t ring truer. The winter months were a difficult time for me, and it was my new friendships that brought a little light and inspiration back into my life. Since then, I’ve found myself on private docent tours, impromptu back porch grill outs and laughing until it hurt. For their kindness and generosity, I am thankful.

 

Same. My muse: @alnimrisamuel #pizza #priorities #selfcontrol

A post shared by Emma Currens (@lil_emmz) on

 

This year was the year I quit dance. For as long as I can remember, I was identified by myself and others as the ballerina. This was one of the most difficult decisions of my life. However, it was a blessing in disguise. Departing from the dance world gave me the opportunity to discover new artistic outlets. I started to get into writing and developing creative content, which lead me to launching a blog. I ended up being able to focus more time on school, and in the end landed my dream internship. Even though quitting something I loved was a hardship, it was time, and because of this leap of faith, pun intended, I opened myself to so many new passions I never thought were possible.

 

Hot momma, cool pops ✌🏼️

A post shared by Emma Currens (@lil_emmz) on

 

I’ve spent  a majority of the year stationed in Chicago. After landing a full time summer internship that’s lasted into the school year, I’ve had to sacrifice my time spent between my two home cities. Because of this, I am incredibly thankful for the time I do get to spend with my family. Whether it’s a quick weekend trip or consistent evening phone calls, my family is a huge blessing in my life.

 

Another original Instagram post.

A post shared by Emma Currens (@lil_emmz) on

 

My time spent in Chicago is creeping into its fourth year, and it wasn’t until this past year that I shed my Cincinnati shell and began to embrace the life of a Chicagoan. It sounds glamorous, but to be honest, this lifestyle requires a parka and several layers of clothing, at least.  I dove deep into lists of the top rated places eat, free events and even made my own best of list. Through self guided donut tours with friends, summer festivals and endless bike rides on the lake shore path, I have become so incredibly grateful to call Chicago not only my backyard, but my home.

Looking back, there is an overflowing list of people and things I am thankful for, but for the sake of time and attention, this small highlights a few things that have made my life #blessed.

Leave a Reply

