Pink Picks

There was a time in my life where almost everything I owned was pink. Whenever my sister asked people at our school if they knew me she would say, “does ballet…wears a lot of pink,” to which they would respond, “Yes! That girl.” I was that girl, pink glory and all. I will spare you the embarrassing pictures of me sporting a pink Juicy hoody.

FullSizeRender

The things I wish I could tell my 12-year-old self now… It will get better, and there won’t be so much pink involved.

In the decade since the pink phase, my tastes have definitely evolved. While I do still love a blush colored top, my entire wardrobe does not consist solely of a single hue. I have found much more grown up ways to incorporate my favorite color into my life, and what better season to break out the pink than Spring?

In paying homage to my pink past, here is all the pink I have been loving:

#GIRLBOSS 

DSC_0686

It just so happens that the cover of this book is pink. It also just so happens that it was an incredibly good read full of salient tips for all of the aspiring #GIRLBOSS’s out there. I picked this up from a friend and read it during my commute to and from school. Reading is such a good alternative to having your face in your phone, and it will save you so much data! One of my favorite quotes she includes in the book is from accomplished advertising executive Leo Burnett:

“Curiosity about life in all aspects, I think, is still the secret of great creative people”

Moral of the story, if you haven’t read this book yet, you need to.

Giorgio Armani ‘Rouge Ecstacy’ Lipstick 

DSC_0682

I will admit, this was a total splurge, but I justified it with a Nordstrom note. I’ve been wanting the perfect pink lip shade for some time now: a your lips, but better kind of rouge. After trying on a wide variety of formulas and colors, I finally decided on shade 501 Peony. I was a little skeptical of the staying power, but after only two applications in one day my lips were still pink. No unsightly lipstick ring here!

Madewell Crop Tee 

IMG_5209

In an effort to keep history from repeating itself, I try and keep my enthusiasm for pink to other parts of my life. This being the case, I can not remember the last time I bought a pink top. After the never ending monotony of growtfits from this winter, I was feeling the need for an injection of pink. This was the perfect tee for the occasion. The boyish cut keeps the piece from being too cutesy, and the crop length allows for a little play. I layer it over dresses, or style it with denim if I’m feeling like showing a little skin!

Synergy Enlightened Guava Godess Kombucha

IMG_5207

The first time I had kombucha, was in my hippy grandmother’s kitchen out of a huge jar full of brown cloudy liquid, and seedlings (the mushrooms used to make kombucha). I decided in that moment that fermented tea was not for me. Thankfully, this was not my final encounter with the amazing drink! I am now a firm believer in the probiotic and energizing powers kombucha possesses. One of my favorites from Synergy is the Guava Goddess flavor. It is very fruity, and has a subtle fizz. Don’t worry about the chunks floating around inside the bottle. They are typical to kombucha, and lend even more probiotic goodness to the tea!

Multi Love | Unknown Mortal Orchestra 

homepage_large.12ed366a

This single has been on repeat, ever since I discovered Unknown Mortal Orchestra through Ezra Vine’s playlists on Spotify. I seriously can not stop listening to all their songs, but Multi Love is especially hypnotic. If I could I would compare them to someone with a similar sound, but their quality is unique and new, you’ll just have to listen for yourself.

Leave a Reply

