Have your Breakfast, and Drink it Too

DSC_0689

 

Most mornings I want to get out the door as soon as possible. This means taking my breakfast on the road, or train tracks shall I say. I can’t remember the last time I skipped breakfast, but I do know hanger was definitely involved! To keep hanger at bay, I always make sure to have quick and easy meals that will keep me full and my claws in check. However, the frigid winter made it difficult to grab something quick like a smoothie, but now that the weather is beginning to warm up (hopefully, maybe??) I am reaching for smoothies almost every morning.

Sometimes I even make a little extra and pack it for a fast snack later in the day!

One word comes to mind when sipping this sinful smoothie: hot-damn. I know, that was actually two words, because one word is not enough to sum up how amazing it is! It’s like if Mexican hot-chocolate and a decadent vegan milkshake (like the shakes at Chicago Diner!) got together, this would be their love child. The best part about it? It’s not sinful at all! As much as it tastes and looks like it is bad for you, its full of antioxidant, metabolism boosting, fiber-full, and protein rich ingredients! Phew, that is a lot, but its all in there.

What really makes this smoothie special is the protein powder I use to make it. I feel like there are a lot of meh protein powders out there. I’ve tried soy, and whey, but am not a fan. Right when I had lost hope in all protein powders (I was using coco powder in my smoothies instead), I stumbled upon Sun Warrior raw and vegan protein powders at a juice bar in Cincinnati. It was love at first sip. I haven’t used any other powder since. In fact, the lovely people at Sun Warrior sent me some of their products to try out, but the Chocolate Warrior Blend used in this recipe is an old favorite.

Ingredients:

-1 medium frozen banana

-1 c. vanilla almond milk

-1 scoop or packet Sun Warrior chocolate protein powder

-1 tbsp. cashew butter

-1 tbsp. ground golden flax

-1 tbsp. raw cacao

-dash of cayenne pepper

Place all of the ingredients in a blender. Blend for about 30 seconds, or until the consistency is smooth. The raw cacao and cayenne might sound like weird ingredients for a smoothie, but the spice contrasted with the bitterness from the cacao works nicely in the drink. Additionaly, cacao is full of antioxidants, and cayenne is said to boost metabolism.

DSC_0685

I tend to blend my smoothies for a long time. The last thing I want while I’m enjoying my breakfast on the go is to come across a chunk. In my opinion, chunks are just plain funky. They can be prevented by using a high-powered blender. I’ve been using the ninja, and have been pleased with it so far.

DSC_0683

After the ingredients are well blended, pour into a cup or whatever type of to go container you like. I’ve been loving glass jars. They are sturdy and the lids never leak. Who am I kidding? I mostly like them because they’re cute and trendy. If you would like, you can sprinkle left over cacao nibs on top.

DSC_0691

If you want to make this recipe really easy to grab and go, measure out and prep your ingredients the night before. In the morning all you’ll have to do is blend, pour, and go!

Leave a Reply

