Salazar and Sentiments

IMG_4457

Whenever I am visiting Cincinnati, I always like to try out new places to eat. With a city that is progressing as quickly as Cincinnati is, new restaurants are easy to find. My time spent in my home town is always a little limited, which makes it difficult to hit up all the latest hot spots. I was a little tardy to the party when it came to today’s lunch selection. Better late than never, because Salazar on Republic in Cincinnati’s beloved Over the Rhine was stellar. Everything about the place was thoughtfully curated, right down to the charming waiters in tailored chambray button downs. Needless to say, I was not complaining.

At 12:30 on a Friday everyone in Cincinnati seems to flock to OTR. It’s one of those neighborhoods to see and be seen in. Luckily, there was no line at Salazar and we settled comfortably into the warm atmosphere. I was instantly taken by the industrious-cozy vibe with hints of old school in the details. This was definitely my kind of lunch spot.

IMG_4455

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The cutlery even had me swooning.

IMG_4451

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

At first glance of the menu, the freshly squeezed lemonade caught my eye. Fresh? Squeezed? Yes. It is all about the wording, people. The lemonade was served carbonated, much to my surprise. I get a little picky over carbonated drinks, but it had just the right balance of bubble for my liking.

IMG_4452

Next came the Boursin soup with a dill cream sauce. It was a special. I was intrigued. Ever since the Portlandia episode about beets, I have felt compelled to consume as many beet foods as possible. If its trendy, it has to be good for me, right?  The silky smooth texture, earthy flavor, and vibrant hue had me smitten.

IMG_4453

The pièce de résistance was the grilled veggie sandwich. I could have started singing about this right there at the table, it was so good. The veggies weren’t overly cooked like some zealous chefs tend to do, and the cheeses it was paired with were perfection. I was also pleased with the thinness of the ciabatta. When I order a sandwich I want to taste the fillings, not the bread. My friend recommended this to me, and I am so happy she did!

IMG_4454

A few french fries never killed anyone.

The thing I enjoy most about lunch dates with long-time friends is the guaranteed scintillating conversation. Today we seemed to keep circling back the same theme, letting go. The sucker that I am for inspirational quotes, I couldn’t help but bring up this one, several times, much to the delight of my lunch date:

 In the end only three things matter: how much you loved, how gently you lived, and how gracefully you let go of things not meant for you.

With spring on the horizon (fingers crossed!), I don’t think there could be a more perfect sentiment. The last part of this quote really resonates with me and where I am in my life right now. There really is so much more than vernally charged oxygen to inhale with the first few breaths of fresh air spring greets us with. Spring gives us the opportunity for new life, new hope, and letting go.

 

Leave a Reply

