Flake Fighting Arsenal

As the deep freeze has settled into Chicago, so has the dreaded winter dry skin. Every year before winter begins I prep myself for what I know is the inevitable. There are so many miracle products out there that promise silky smooth skin free of the lovely scales and bumps the winter wind is so kind to grace us with. Let me tell you something, no matter how much you slather on, you can’t beat it. Winter skin is just something we have to deal with, but through my past three winters in Chicago I have curated an arsenal of products that will help make the remainder of the season a little more bearable.

KORRES Beurre Pour Les Lèvres

DSC_0620

 Lips are the first thing you don’t want to forget about when it comes to protection from the winter wind. Bundled up in a parka, hat, and scarf, lips take harshest beating. I’m sure most of us have our boring chapstick tubes religiously tucked into all of our pockets, but there is no need to reside ourselves to lackluster lips just because it’s cold out. KORRES lip butter is hands down my favorite lip product year round, but I love it during the winter especially because it adds color and moisture to my beauty routine.

Josie Maran Argan Infinity Cream Intensive Creamy Oil

DSC_0618

I initially bought this for my face because I was dealing with some seriously dry irritated skin. I’d been flirting with the idea of face oils for a while, but like everyone else I had some reservations. With the main ingredient being Argan oil you might think that this would be greasy and too heavy for the face, but it’s not. The creamy oil consistency absorbs into skin without leaving any residue. As the name implies there are infinite uses for this product. I’ve enjoyed the versatility of it, using it on rough cuticles, under eyes, and chapped lips.

First Aid Beauty: Ultra Repair Cream and Instant Oatmeal Mask

DSC_0611 

This one is a double feature. Used together or used alone, I am in love with both of these products! The mask has little chunks of oatmeal in it and when it dries doesn’t feel tight and uncomfortable like most do. The tube says to leave it on for 10 minutes, but if my skin is need of a little extra something I will keep it on over night. It won’t clog your pores if you do this. I always apply the cream after using the mask, but it is also apart of my daily routine. I used to struggle with flakey skin, especially on my nose, but this moisturizer is the cure-all for winter flakes!

Tocca Cremma Da Mano

DSC_0615

There are two words in this world that do not cease to give me a shiver: hand cream. I am hopelessly in love with the stuff. It’s something that without fail I always have on hand, pun intended. Lately I have been loving the Tocca hand creams. Its lightweight application is perfect for anyone who spends a lot of time typing on their computers and is worried about finger print smudges. On second thought, I am probably the only person who is worried about this. Neuroticism aside, this is a lovely cream with a scent that will lift your spirits on the dreariest of days.

Davines Oi Oil Absolute Beautifying Potion

DSC_0614

Ever since I started lightening my hair, this oil has become one of my holy grail products. Its light weight formula really delivers. I’ve tried scores of other hair oils but only been left with weighed down disappointment. The great thing about Oi Oil is that it’s a heat protectant. You can put it on damp hair, let it dry over night, and heat style in the morning while still reaping the benefits of this magical potion. Not to mention, the scent is divine and uni-sex. As a final note, I’ve had this little 1.7 ounce bottle since May, and thanks to so some sort of Maccabean miracle it is not giving up.

I leave you with this one pearl of wisdom: diligence. Using additional products can feel like an extra chore sometimes, but I promise you will be so much happier if you make it a priority to keep your skin in tip top shape during the remainder of winter.

Leave a Reply

